2009 Emmy Fashion: Let’s Keep This Simple

Done RIGHT or done WRONG. Sometimes, it’s just that simple. Here are our standouts in each category:

DONE RIGHT:

Drew Barrymore looks good enough to eat in Monique Lhuillier. Note the lack of accessories. Smart move. The dress shines like the star it really is.

Delish.

Delish.

January Jones, aka Betty Draper, is KICKING ASS and taking names in this fitted bodice dress by Versace. Mrs. Draper would be at a loss for words. I know I am. But I will say: LOOOOOOOOOOVE IT.

Might have to by my favorite of the night.

Might have to by my favorite of the night.

Chloë Sevigny was pure, understated class last night, despite being SNUBBED this year AGAIN for Big Love. And no, I’m still not over it. What did we say about the red lip, ladies? Here, done RIGHT**.

**See H.Panettiere.

emmyschloe

Wearing Isaac Mizrahi's Resort 2010 collection

Julia Louis-Dreyfus, in Vera Wang, never looked better. Nuff said.

I pray to Christ I looks this good when I'm 48.

I pray to Christ I looks this good when I'm 48.

DONE WRONG: 

Will someone explain to the latest Hollywood Tart Brigade that it’s best to avoid dressing up like your mom on Emmy night? Lipstick is nice. Overdone makeup, however, will age you about 15 years. Such a shame. We know you want to look older girls (sigh), but this is not the way to go about it.

Hayden Panettiere in J. Mendel seems to have taken a cue from Katherine Heigl’s 2008 Oscar look. But. Heigl is older and taller. Not a huge fan of matching lipstick with dresses to begin with, but Izzy pulled it off. This? Not so much.

Hayden, age 35.

Hayden, age 35.

Leighton Meester in Bottega Veneta. We say: great dress, but not for her. Don’t get me started on the makeup. In fact. This whole thing sort of reminds me of an episode of Dallas. OUCH.

emmysleighton

And finally. Kyra. Kyra Sedgwick. As if losing her savings in the Ponzi scheme weren’t enough, a strawberry shortcake ate her for dinner last night. Bad bad bad.

emmyskyra

In L'Wren Scott

Okay, now, right or wrong–we’re just plain done.

A category all its own. Victoria Rowell in...Obama.

A category all its own. Victoria Rowell in...Obama.

Leave a Reply

