Snuggle Up to NYC Fashion Week With–WAIT. WHAT?

Does this make me look fat?

Does this make me look fat?

This just in: Snuggies. At NYC Fashion Week. Yes, those blanket thingies that look like trash bags made of felt that you see on infomercials. YES, those. YES.

Something tells me Marc Jacobs might be intrigued, given his affinity for sporting skirts? But why? I mean, it’s basically like one humungo frock/skirt/monk uniform you can melt into whilst watching cable. AND? A blanket with sleeves. AND? This doesn’t happen to often, but I’m sort of at a loss for words? How did this happen? Who spearheaded this? What does Anna Wintour think? Did DVF lose her lunch over this? Or does she love a good laugh at a gimmick’s expense? I guess I’m just going to have to wait for the aftermath.

snuggie1

But…but…I mean: this show involves DOGS. And…and…CHILDREN. CHILDREN. In the tents. At Bryant Park. Children donning apparel inspired by the American condition of… of lazy days and nights, wearing baggy “clothing.” Oversized clothing which fits everyone in America (and probably a few of their cousins) is at NYC Fashion Week. This is so not fashion week I almost like it. But of course I can’t help but be a bit annoyed by the very thought that one can get away with something like this, and how it might dilute the powerhouse punch which is NYC fashion week. First they announce they will be moving the operation to Lincoln Center, and now SNUGGIES. What next? A mitten retrospective? Caterpillar C.A.T.walks?!

Oh, I forgot an integral detail: the point of the show was to reveal the newest Snuggie collection, you guys. Which basically consists of Snuggies in animal prints, Snuggies for kids, and Snuggies for again, (sigh) DOGS.

snuggiekiddog

I just said Snuggie wayyy too many times. I think I’m done now.

mjskirt

The other MJ.

3 responses to “Snuggle Up to NYC Fashion Week With–WAIT. WHAT?

  1. ick, this wasnt at an mj show was it? i think they are taking the slouch oversized sweater 80’s look overboard. but kids on the runway? that is a huge nish nish. however, little dogs and fashion go hand and hand, which is why you see so many pups in hermes bags

  2. A dog in a Snuggie is a bit much, but I dig the zebra Snuggie!

  3. Написано конечно всё правильно, хотя и только поверхностно. В любом случае спасибо

Leave a Reply

