YSL Debuts Spring RTW 2009: Watch out, Stefano Pilati Means Business

Literally. I’m growing weary of relating the Paris runway shows to the economy, and I’m sure you are tired of hearing it, so I’ll abandon that obvious correlation for now. So in the meantime, can I just say wow. Wow not because this collection blew me over in its innovation, but because it blew me over in its…its…YSL nostalgia? Not a technical term, I know, and perhaps the recent passing of the great YSL himself prompted Creative Director Stefano Pilati to pay a tribute of sorts to Saint Laurent’s love of androgyny and the designer’s pioneering of the female power suit.

ysl4

  ysl1

 

For this collection…heavy on the power. I can’t help but wish the show was a *bit* more exciting, but then again, I also can’t admit to not adoring this collection. I certainly have an affinity for black, and this collection was darker than dark; this show was not just black-heavy—it was black leather-heavy. All I can say is oww oww. I want to wear every one of these ensembles, and I want to wear them either kicking someone’s ass or landing a multi-million dollar deal.

 

ysl5

 

Tightly pulled samurai buns and crimson lips complete the look: this is a smart, chic, no- nonsense woman who doesn’t’ have time for any crap; this is a woman who could literally knock you dead in your tracks.

 

ysl2

 

No hesitation at all: there is not a shred of fantasy to be had here. The suit channels this season’s want of practicality, and the black channels this season’s (if not this year’s) mood. This YSL collection is deep-seeded in dark, severe…reality.

 

White blouses boasting voluminous sleeves and bows served as a contrast to the black, but let there be no mistake about it: this collection gets down to business, and has no apologies in doing so.

 

ysl3

Complete collection: http://content.coutorture.com/2906615

 

2 responses to “YSL Debuts Spring RTW 2009: Watch out, Stefano Pilati Means Business

  1. “I want to wear every one of these ensembles, and I want to wear them either kicking someone’s ass or landing a multi-million dollar deal. ”

    Do BOTH!

  2. If only! I might have to get transferred to the 5th floor first. 😉

Leave a Reply

